
          STATE LAND DEPARTMENT POLICY MEMO NO.   P86-1   
 

 DATE ISSUED:  03/18/86 

                                                                                                                      LAST AMENDED:  04/22/11 

                                                                                                                     

TO:   DIVISION DIRECTORS 

 

FROM:  MARIA BAIER /s/ 

    STATE LAND COMMISSIONER 

 

SUBJECT: FEES; COPY OF DOCUMENTS; MAPS; PROCESSING COSTS AND RETURNED 

CHECKS 

 

Each year the Department provides voluminous numbers of copies of documents to the public.  The 

following outlines fees, either statutory or discretionary, for copies of documents and other records of 

the Department.  In addition, policy direction is established for the minimum processing cost for late 

payments of monies owed to the Department; the maximum amount of cash that will be accepted by the 

Cashier’s Office; and processing of returned checks. 

 

I. NON DISCRETIONARY (STATUTORY) FEES:  
 

A. Substantive Policy Memo No. 10-1 establishes the following fees for certified copies of 

documents: 

 

1. CERTIFIED copies of documents ...................................... $10.00 + $1.00 per page 

                     (Note:  Staff is to make copies to be certified.) 

   

B. A.R.S. § 12-351, provides for reasonable costs incurred in a civil action by a witness who 

is not a party to the action with respect to the production of records pursuant to a 

subpoena be charged against the party requesting the subpoena. 

 

1. Copies of records pursuant to a subpoena duces tecum, where the Department is 

not a party to the case and where considerable time is required to produce the 

records, the statutory fees are as follows: 

 

a. Clerical costs (locating/making copies per hour)................................$10.00  

 

b. Subpoena copying costs per page……………………….……………$0.10  
 

Notice: Pursuant to A.R.S. §41-1091(b): 

This substantive policy statement is advisory only.  A substantive policy statement does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the 
internal procedures of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules 

made in accordance with the Arizona Administrative Procedure Act.  If you believe that this substantive policy statement does impose additional 

requirements or penalties on regulated parties you may petition the agency under section 41-1033, Arizona Revised Statutes, for a review of the statement. 

 

      Text: 09/25/89; 09/25/96; 11/06/98; 04/09/03; 06/19/07; 07/17/08 (price change per page, II A2; II B1;  II B4);  
                                    09/16/09 Min processing cost; returned checks. Increased min. to $50; 01/01/11 Ref to 37-108 chgd to P10-1; copy fee changes;  

   04/22/11 Increase cost of CD and change in text 

         Reissued: Formerly issued as Policy Memo No. 32 (09/25/96) 
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II. DISCRETIONARY FEES: 

 

Pursuant to Attorney General's Opinion No. 86-090, dated August 25, 1986, an agency may charge 

any fee, not established by Statute, it deems appropriate for copying records, including a reasonable 

fee for cost of time, equipment and personnel in producing copies of records subject to public 

disclosure, but not the actual cost of staff time to search for the records. 

 

The following establishes rates for copies of documents, records, etc., not established by Statute: 

 

A. Copies of Documents (non-certified) and fees 

 

1. Department records, documents, instruments, leases, etc. 

         made by the public ...............................................................….……..$0.25per page 

  

2. Department records, documents, instruments, leases, etc.  

         made by the staff ………………….………..………………………..$0.50 per page 

                               (color copies)….……………………………………….$0.75 per page 

 

3. Copies of microfiche/microfilm copies of records made by staff…....$0.50 per page 

  By the public ……………………………………...……………….   $0.25 per page 

 

    4.  Copies of material in CD format (when available)…………………...$5.00 each CD 

       (If document already exists and is simply burned to CD); or 

       add $.10/page if material must be scanned & burned to CD  

                            

    5.    Copies of large black and white maps ………………………………..$2.50 each  

     

    6.     Scanned documents …………….……………………………………..$.05 per page 

                                                                                                                                     

B. A.R.S. § 37-175 provides that information (maps, imagery products and cartographic 

data) be available at a uniform rate adequate to cover the costs of providing such 

information. 

 

  The costs for these products are as follows: 

 

 1. Color land status maps……...................................................................$9.00 each 

  (Surface management maps and military flight route maps) 

 

 2.     GIS map products; first copy…………………….………………..….$25.00 each 

                                 additional copies………………………………………..……………..$7.00 each 

 

3.   USGS Topographic Maps (as available)………………………………$5.00 each 
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C. Specialized computer generated reports (via printed copy or email) ... $10.00 for first page  

                        each additional page in the document…………….……………….……………$.0.25 each 

 

D. Postage or Fed Ex if requested items are mailed or shipped……...……...……Actual cost
1
 

 

  E. Faxed materials……………………………………………………………..$0.50 per page 

 

 F. Minimum Processing Cost for Late Payments 

Per A.R.S. § 37-288, the Land Commissioner is authorized to determine a Minimum 

Processing Cost for late payments on monies owed to the Department. The Minimum 

Processing Cost is established at $25.  

 

 

III.  MISCELLANEOUS 

 

A. Returned Checks 

For individuals who have had more than one personal check returned, the Department will 

only accept up to $50 cash on the monies owed and requires a money order or cashier’s 

check for the balance of monies owed.  The Chief Accountant may authorize exceptions. 

 

B. Maximum Cash Accepted.  

For security reasons, the Department will not accept large amounts of cash for payments of 

monies owed.  The Department will accept up to $50 cash for any monies owed.  The Chief 

Accountant may authorize exceptions. 

 

  

 

~ ~ ~ 

                         
1 A set estimated cost has been pre-determined for maps.  This is not the actual 

cost, but an estimate based on the average cost.  These estimates are included on 

the map order form, which is available online. 


